• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sheila965

Sheila965

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 March 2012 - 05:01 PM

I am a newbie posting in this forum but I've been reading posts for a while to glean as much as I can from someone else's experience in hopes to reduce the withdrawal symptoms of my own. I am 46.

I have dysthymia (chronic mild depression) and have taken medication for depression since 2000. I've tried numerous other drugs but this was the only one that felt like it "worked" for me and made me feel "whole." The only drawback was the "I-don't-give-a-crap" feeling about everything. It beat crying, so I lived with it. The weight gain came when I started anti-depressants in general. I can't blame that on Cymbalta. Of course, my diet didn't help either. :rolleyes:

I've been on Cymbalta 60 mg for somewhere between 5-7 years. I've really lost track. I did try once to come down to 30 mg but the side effects were so bad, I figured I still "needed" an anti-depressant so I went back up to 60 mg. My doctor really just let me do what I wanted.

I was in excruciating pain in August of last year due to an acutely inflamed sciatic nerve and the fact that I was closing in on 300 lbs (5'4" frame...not a good combo!) :blink: Before I found out what it was, I decided to change my lifestyle and eat properly. I did research and was led to a book where I found out my metabolic type and have been steadily losing weight since.

During my research on being healthy, I have begun to supplement my diet with Krill Oil with evening primrose, Alpha Lipoic Acid, L-Lysine, Magnesium, Chlorella, Spirulina, Organic Whole Food vitamins, Grape Seed Extract, CoQ10, Gingko, Garlic, Ginger, probiotics and psyllium. I take Valerian to help go into the deep sleep that is needed to heal.

I started the bead counting 10 days ago. I took 10 out the first day, 20 out the second, 30 out the third... Well, you get the picture.