23 replies to this topic

#1 theanxietychick

theanxietychick

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationDetroit, MI
  • why_joining:
    After taking 30 mg Cymbalta for 4 years, I ran out of medication on 1/30/2015. Since then I have experienced a variety of withdrawal symptoms, and I am eager to lean on a community of people with similar experiences to help me persevere through this period of discontinuation.

Posted 01 March 2015 - 05:27 AM

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I have only read through a few of the threads, so I'm sorry in advance if this is a topic that has already been discussed.

I have been taking 30 mg of Cymbalta daily since 2010 to manage generalized anxiety disorder. (At one point, I did take 60 mg, but I weaned down to 30 mg to save more money). I ran out of my medicine on 1/30/2015 because the online pharmacy I go through was late in delivering my shipment. Instead of going to urgent care, I decided to stick it out and see if I could manage. 

The withdrawal symptoms were not surprising, since I had missed doses before and experienced the dizziness, brain zaps, irritability, etc. I managed to plow through the first 3 weeks in spite of the arduous physical symptoms. They are still present sometimes, but they are MUCH less intense than they were during the first 2 weeks. I think what helped get me through the physical stuff was the fact that I was handling my emotions/anxiety okay. I figured, hey - as long as it's physical and it's not an example of a resurfacing of my anxiety disorder, I can get through this. 

Not so much anymore. The 4th week has been a nightmare of mood swings, irritability, and worst of all spontaneous bouts of tears. 

Sometimes the crying is genuine. I just feel frustrated and sad and I need some way to release the pent-up emotion.