Photo

Cymbalta, Wellbutrin, Anxiety And Disconnect.

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Loosingmymind

Loosingmymind

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 January 2016 - 06:00 PM

I was on Cymbalta for 5 years for fibromyalgia. Two years ago I was experiencing severe anxiety and increased pain so my rheumatologist increased my 60mg to 90 mg daily. I weened myself off in the summer and went back this past fall. My anxiety was back and I had a huge disconnect between my mind and what I would say. I am a full time student and exams became terrible to get through. I could not concentrate at all. I finally went to my pcp in tears. She suggested that I go off the Cymbalta as it was known to cause anxiety. It took me 4 months to come off the Cymbalta . I did the every other day thing and am now totally off it. It was horrible to go through. My pcp put me on Wellbutrin because I was depressed at not being able to concentrate in school. Now I feel I am loosing my mind. I cry, snap at everyone, and start my last semester tomorrow. I heard Wellbutrin can cause the same issues as Cymbalta. I don't know which way to go at the moment? Any ideas?

#2 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,869 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 10 January 2016 - 06:28 PM

Wellbutrin takes 8 weeks to kick in so I am assuming you are past that point. If that is the case it certainly sounds like side effects. Some times side effects decrease after a couple weeks. If you are past that point then it may be time to go to a different antidepressant. The problem with ADs is the side effects, the withdrawal and a particular AD usually works only 80% of the time as an average. If it doesn't work then you have to try another one. The only answer is to be patient and keep trying.

#3 brzghoff

brzghoff

Like a Family Member

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts