#1 LS1978

LS1978

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • LocationU.S.

Posted 13 April 2017 - 04:53 PM

I'm on day 3 of reduced duloxetine (Lupin--30 mg contains 6 pellets, I've reduced to 5).  I was just at the grocery store and felt light-headed for a bit.  I wasn't sure if I was going to pass out or not.  I kept telling myself, "you're okay, you're okay" so that I wouldn't have a panic attack in addition to the light-headedness.  My lips were tingling as well.  I'm feeling a bit like that now as well--with tingling in my lips, fingers and toes--but I'm sitting down at home, so it doesn't seem as bad.

I have to wonder if I'm having drops in blood pressure.  My blood pressure was low before I started Cymbalta, then went up after starting it.  

Have others experienced this?  Is this something I should be worried about?  Is there anything I can do about it?

I should also mention that I have a vestibular imbalance that sometimes causes dizziness.  I'm wondering if that may be a factor as well.

#2 gail

gail

Site Partners

• Site Supporter
  • 6,016 posts
  • LocationSherbrooke, PQ
  • why_joining:
    5 months on cymbalta, scary side effects, to get help and to return the favor if I can.

Posted 14 April 2017 - 08:13 AM

Hi,

The best way to withdraw is to get the brand Cymbalta. Smoother taper, your generic is 5 mg pellets. That is too fast. With the brand you remove 2 or 3 beads a day. Like 3 then 6 then 9 and so on.

Some pellets can be cut but not all generics. Fishinghat will come along to tell you if yours can be cut.

#3 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,869 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 14 April 2017 - 08:28 AM

The individual beads on the Lupin are enteric coated and should not be cut. By cutting them you allow them to dissolve too quickly and you get rapid spikes in blood concentrations.