#1 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,869 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:26 PM

Just a short note on some new info from FDA. Their research shows that to be sure and avoid the lorazepam withdrawal you should not stay on the drug more than 2 to 4 weeks. THAT IS SHORT!!!

Also, in the past they said lorazepam started losing its effectiveness after 4 month, now they say 4 to 6 months.

#2 DoneWithCrap

DoneWithCrap

Like a Family Member

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • LocationMassachusetts
  • why_joining:
    I have been a zombie of too long.
    I want a life!

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:53 PM

I have been switching between lorazepam and konopin for at least 13 years. i know they lose there effectiveness after a while. Not sure if taking a break from 1 then starting up again is as effective as it was the first time around either. Im about due to switch it up baecause the konopin isnt helping my akathesia much at this point

#3 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • 13,869 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 01 August 2014 - 05:12 PM

Well Renee I do know that you are suppose to go two years between usages on the lorazepam. I don't know about the klonopin. I couldn't find anything on it.

#4 gail

gail

Site Partners

• Site Supporter
  • 6,016 posts
  • LocationSherbrooke, PQ
  • why_joining:
    5 months on cymbalta, scary side effects, to get help and to return the favor if I can.

Posted 01 August 2014 - 05:18 PM

Renée, there was a post somewhere where FH mentionned that after a certain amount of time on a benzo, they switch you to another one. Then to another one. And so on and so on, cant find that post.

FH, you remember posting this somewhere not to long ago?