• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Johnbouy

Johnbouy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 15 December 2017 - 10:09 PM

Hi people i am new to this sight , im glad i found this sight and somewhat bewildered at the medical doctors who have us hooked on their medication for one reason or another .

My Story is i have been on antidepressants in one form or another for many years .

I am 52 now and would have been on them for at least 25 years .

I was on Zoloft for around 10 years till they seemingly stopped working then my doctor moved me

to Cymbalta 60 mg (morning)

I also take Mirtazipine 30 mg at night time ( antidepressant )

i also take Nitrazepam 5 mg at  night time ( sleeping tablet  )

I was prescribed Cymbalta for depression and Mirtazipine (which is also a antidepressant) for chronic insomnia

i take Nitrazepam for Chronic Imsomnia also .

What a mess . I started taking Nitrazepam to help me sleep as i was living with my partner at the time a snorer and to help me 

sleep i would use ear plugs , but after awhile i would get ear infections so i innocently thought i'll try sleeping tablets .

I want to come OFF all this S**t , i cannot retain information , is still get depressed (although my faith helps) 

I have tried to cut down from 60 mg to 30 mg before and my mood became very somber so i went back up to 60mg .

​( although the bead counting method sounds hopeful )

Being on these meds for so long and my psychiatrist and Doctor told me  " you will be on them for life , think of them as a supplement "

And after reading the horror stories on here and just how close i have come to suicide in the past , i fear coming of these things .

If i dont now take sleeping tablets i will be up for days ,  i dont like laying awake for hours

regurgitating past mistakes , dissecting things i could have done differently like a broken record .