• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 pkass1

pkass1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 August 2018 - 06:07 PM

Hi, I am new to this so bear with me. I have been on 60mg Cymbalta for about six years. I have been tapering off of it for a while now. I am down to 20mg. I took the 20 mg for a month and I am now down to every other day with it. I did fine till I got to the every other day and it’s been hard. I am crying and having panic attacks, so my Dr has prescribed Zoloft 50mg. I am confused and I am not sure on the best way to so this. How long do I take the Zoloft before stopping the Cymbalta? Then how do I taper off the Zoloft?
Anybody out there that has used this method and succeeded, I sure could use some advice.
Thanks

#2 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,894 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 16 August 2018 - 08:25 AM

Welcome pkass

Your dr has put you in a bad spot. The FDA has warned against the every other day thing. Cymbalta has a half life of 12 hours so by the time a new dose is due your blood levels of Cymbalta are nearly zero. That is almost like going cold turkey. When you do take your next capsule the blood levels shoot back up again and you wind up repeating the same withdrawal all over again. I would strongly suggest that you go back on 20 mg and stabilize and then consider weaning by the bead count method. Each capsule contains so many beads (usually around 300 but it can vary from manufacturer to manufacturer). Each day open a capsule and take out about 1% or less of the beads and that is your dose for the day. So for a brand with 300 beads inside I would recommend taking out 3 beads more each day (or less). Anytime the symptoms get bad just stay at your current dose until you feel better. The last 4 or 5 mgs are tough so be prepared to slow down when you get to that level.