4 replies to this topic

#1 ESRoar

ESRoar

Advanced Member

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 28 December 2019 - 01:01 PM

Hi All- I’ve been tapering off of 90mg since July 2018 via the bead counting method. Throughout this whole time, I’ve been on high doses of hormones (for fertility treatment) and/or pregnant. I’m 3 months postpartum and I’ve held at 46mg since I’ve had the baby. There have been a lot of life changes (as you can imagine) and I didn’t want to add tapering withdrawals to that. The past few days I’ve been struggling really bad: I can’t stop crying, I feel almost paralyzed with depression, I can’t concentrate on anything, and then I feel guilt for having these issues around my husband and baby. My question is, has anyone had to add beads back in during a taper? I’m struggling so bad and I need to be able to work and take care of my baby. Thank you.  

#2 invalidusername

invalidusername

Site Admin

• Site Supporter
  • 6,212 posts
  • LocationKent, UK

Posted 28 December 2019 - 01:54 PM

Hi there ESRoar....

Welcome and a warm Seasons Greetings to you.... and first up, yes, plenty of people have added beads during their taper, and given your are 3 months p/p, it doesn't surprise me in the slightest that you feel this should be an option. Let's not forget that 10-15% of all women have postnatal depression, and if you have previously had such an episode, these odds are increased, so don't beat yourself up for what is going on; you need to stabalise.

When you say a few days - how many are we talking? And what were you like prior to that? How has the last 18 months of tapering been overall? Is this depression a sudden onset, or has it occurred previously during the taper?

Chances are you might need to add a few beads to get stable and hold there for a while before going further. You are in a delicate space right now... but we will do all we can to help.

IUN

#3 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members