Photo

Is It Normal To Feel Extreme Self Loathing And Anger?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 VaguelyFamiliar

VaguelyFamiliar

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • why_joining:
    I recently did a fast taper off of Cymbalta 60s. I was on it for 7 years for severe anxiety and depression. I'm here looking for answers on how to navigate the withdrawal mine field.

Posted 23 June 2020 - 08:38 PM

Hi,

Newbie here...posting for the first time.  I just completed a pretty short taper 3 weeks ago.  

I was placed on Cymbalta 60mg over 7 years ago, after hitting a tipping point in my sanity.  In hindsight, it was the Hindenburg waiting to happen.   The usual recipe...abusive alcoholic parent, married young to a sociopath, traumatic pregnancies, major medical issues (cancer/chemo), spousal infidelity and then hostile divorce.  

For the majority of my life, I was somewhat able to manage my anxiety/depression thru diet, exercise, meditation (mostly just being outdoors) and reading every book I could find and then eventually therapy.  If none of that worked...I just faked it.  Apparently, I'm pretty good...because no one was aware I struggled with these demons.  Always the peacekeeper and smiling face....

I won't say that I regret taking Cymbalta.  It did help initially with the panic attacks, intense anxiety and suicidal thoughts.  And, I'm grateful that its numbing abilities kept me emotionally level during the most vicious and soul destroying moments of my life.  I wouldn't be here otherwise.  However, I never planned on being on a pharmaceutical at all and especially not for this long.  At this stage, the list of cons are long...the withdrawal has been a nightmare.  I do not plan on reinstating.  I just can't.  

So here is what I did.