• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Chloe

Chloe

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • why_joining:
    I'm trying to get off of Cymbalta right now.. and it sucks. I was on Effexor and went through an incredibly horrible withdrawal period and said I would NEVER take another medicine similar to it. Unfortunately, I let me doc talk me into taking Cymbalta.. and I have gained tons of weight, sleep all the time and need help getting off of it. I'm a postgrad student and definitely a real person! :)

Posted 15 November 2009 - 04:05 AM

Ok..

Well, I won't bore everyone with details, but I am so incredibly glad that I found this forum. It's amazing. You are all so helpful!!

I actually had to wean myself off of Effexor a couple years ago and it was absolute hell. I said I would never take meds like it again -- but I let my doctor talk me into taking Cymbalta before my move overseas (I'm a postgrad student). It _did_ help with the anxiety, but I have gained 30 lbs, sleep all of the time and the brain zaps are back. I also started drinking a lot. I don't feel like myself and I desperately want to get off of it.

So, two nights ago I decided not to take my 60 mg and just start taking it every other day. Yeah. BIG mistake. Yesterday I woke up after 3 hours of sleep and I felt manic - I couldn't stop moving/cleaning/organizing. Then as the day went on I started to get diarrhea and stomach upsets - plus constant CONSTANT brain zaps. Every sound caused an electric shock to go through my body. I felt hot and dizzy. I started shaking and feeling paranoid. I called home and had my mom look up the symptoms.. and I realized it must be some sort of discontinuation syndrome. My doc said this wouldn't happen. :(

So, I took a pill last night and today I feel a little better. The brain zaps have gone away but I still have the stomach issues.