#1 MaureenV

MaureenV

God-like

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia
  • why_joining:
    Am trying to get off Cymbalta 30mg and wondering about brain zaps.

Posted 31 December 2009 - 02:49 AM

Yes, I have this occuring now, as my insurance is in limbo for a month and I cannot afford a script for Cymbalta as there is no generic--though everyone here on this forum probably knows this.

Anyhow, my husband and I moved 2000 mi es so we both can work in our professions, I am a grad school degreed person unable to find steady work where we had moved for my husbands career so money has been tight. I tried to go off of it a month ago when we still had insurance and I could not do it because
of the side effects so I refilled another month and was not able to see a new doctor here in the new State. The shocks are, and were terrible enough that I called my Psychiatrist off hours wondering if it was an emergency. She simply told me I need to find a new doctor and to go back to 60 mg. Had I been in CT I likely would have been able to get a lot of samples from her, but since I am currently uninsured.... Now it has been two days and it is getting worse, I just puked, I feel the zaps through my whole body and my stomach feels terrible.

I suppose the good thing is being unemployed during this time, I'm taking as many herbal supplements as I can to try to help but the side effect mentioned above is terrible!

Hi Allie,

Can you afford to get a prescription for (say) 20mg? I don't know how the costs work in the US (in Aust we pay the same for a monthly supply - about $35 - regardless of the dose). If you (eg) took that dose it would reduce the withdrawal effects as your body slowly adjusted to the lower dose.

If, IF, you felt perfectly o.k. after a few weeks, you may be able to use the balance of the capsules (with the contents divided into even smaller doses) to reduce the symptoms to a manageable level.