• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationEngland
  • why_joining:
    My daughter needs to come off Cymbalta.

Posted 23 May 2010 - 04:45 AM

Hi, Angela

I am new to Cymbalta, my daughter had only taken it for 5 weeks (30 mg) and now she is weaning off it. Because of that, I had to do a lot of reading to see what the best way of doing it was.

The general consensus seems to be that taking Cymbalta every other day is a bad idea - because of the drug's short half-life you are basically suffering withdrawal symptoms after you miss your dose. Slowly lowering the dose over a period of time seems to be the best approach. The dose and the time period differs from person to person but if you have been on Cymbalta for over 3 years, slowly is probably your best approach. Your psychiatrist doesn't seem to know much about this, by the sound of it. It is basic knowledge that you cannot treat antidepressants the same way as, say, painkillers and 'take one when you need one', he really should know that!

In my daughter's case, I have been taking out a certain number of beads (the little white balls) out of the capsule and then monitoring any adverse effects she may be having. We have been going relatively quickly because of the short time she had been taking Cymbalta but in your case perhaps going down 2/3 mg at a time may be more appropriate. I am sure that others who have been through this process will be able to help you with their advice.

Good luck!

minority

#2 cookie

cookie

God-like

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • why_joining:
    In the future I would like to stop cymbalta

Posted 23 May 2010 - 09:33 AM

Dear Angela:
I am not a Doctor, but it seems you have been trying and taking too many drugs and going to too many doctors (from what I´ve read).
I think going to different doctors is good to have different opinions, but is not good going to too many. I don´t think it is good to try a drug for a few weeks and keeping switching drugs.