#1 deb

deb

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • why_joining:
    have fibromyalgia and depression

Posted 24 May 2010 - 05:14 PM

I just found this site today. I have been on Cymbalta for 4 years, for fibro and depression.The past 2+ years have been taking 120mg daily.I have been taking 120mg one night, and then 60 mg the next night for about 1 month. Over the weekend stepped down to just 60 mg each night. Today at work, I was so nauseated, I had to come home. Very unusual for me to be nauseated. What is your advice on stepping down going forward? I have recently been trying to eat more fresh fruits and veggies, and hope this will help.

#2 cookie

cookie

God-like

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • why_joining:
    In the future I would like to stop cymbalta

Posted 24 May 2010 - 10:33 PM

Dear Deb:
I am not a doctor. Just a person who has suffered from severe depression and has been on antidepressant for many years. I read that the therapeutic dosage for cymbalta is 60mg. Any further miligrams, do not bring additional benefits. I have taken cymb. 60mg for 5 years. For a period my doctor recommended 90mg, which didn´t bring additional benefits and gave me side effects that I didn´t have while on 60mg (itching, mania). So I might deduce that 120mg is a high dosage.

One of the main things I learned throught this site, is that taking the med every other day is not a good option due to life of cymbalta within the body/brain. I´ve read in many posts here, that it is better to take the same dosage everyday for a period.

It seems that your body, is used to a very high level of cymbalta (120mg), so going to 60mg is a huge drop (50%) although you did the -every other day approach-. Based on what I have lived, with my dosage decrease, I would suggest you to drop dosage somewhere in between. In my case, I´ve been dropping 7mg each time. You could for example reduce to 110mg, then to 105mg, and so on.