God-like

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • why_joining:
    In the future I would like to stop cymbalta

Posted 24 August 2010 - 12:52 AM

Dear Liz:
You have taken cymbalta for 10 years or more? When did they launch cymbalta??? I started taking cymbalta around 2006 and I was told it was a new product.

I am not a doctor, but it seems your "weaning" was too fast. It has taken me almost 4 months to go down from 60mg to 15mg, and even though I´ve had withdrawal symptoms, I´ve been able to function, exercise, go out, etc. Right now I am dividing the content of one 30mg pill into two parts. Taking into account that you were taking such a high dose (120mg) can you ask your doctor to go slower on the weaning???

If you decide to stick with being completely off the med, I am not the right person to give you advice because I am still on cymbalta 15mg.

cookie

#2 Debbie M.

Debbie M.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • why_joining:
    weaning from cymbalta

Posted 24 August 2010 - 01:07 PM

Cymbalta was approved for depression in 2004. You must be confused about your dates.

#3 Debbie M.

Debbie M.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • why_joining:
    weaning from cymbalta

Posted 24 August 2010 - 10:02 PM

Liz, I wish there was a fix it for you. The only advise is to stick with it and it will get better eventually. I have been "clean" for a month and I am living proof that it can be done. I am feeling so normal now. I thought I never would. Keep trying. Everyday just keep swimming...............
Debbie M.

#4 cookie

cookie

God-like

• Members
  • 1,050 posts
  • why_joining:

Posted 24 August 2010 - 10:46 PM

Liz, I wish there was a fix it for you. The only advise is to stick with it and it will get better eventually. I have been "clean" for a month and I am living proof that it can be done. I am feeling so normal now. I thought I never would. Keep trying. Everyday just keep swimming...............