Photo

Counting Granules...the Key To Getting Off Cymbalta (For Me At Least).

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 jessielee

jessielee

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • why_joining:
    want to explain how i got off cymbalta

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:42 PM

Hello,

I started this topic telling my back story of depression & my Cymbalta history, but then I realized, you are suffering, you don't want to read about more suffering, you just want HELP!

I want to try to help. I am not a doctor or pharmacist, although I have consulted many through my trials, as well as read many books & consider myself very educated in this subject. In the past 6 years or so, I have tried to free myself of Cymbalta unsuccessfully, but here I sit, finally Cymbalta-free and with very little to no withdrawal effects. I don't lie about this, this is gospel.

I am what they call a "poor" metabolizer, meaning that I don't need a high dose at all to feel the effects of a drug, so I never got higher than 30 mg in the whole time I took Cymbalta, so keep that in mind.

I had been halving 60 mg capsules for years because it saved me another $130 every other month. I would halve them just by eyeballing it, but when I finally decided to begin weaning off Cymbalta completely, I started to count granules. Now, counting granules is no small feat--you have to set aside time, have decent eyesight or a strong pair of magnifying glasses & feel ok looking kind of like you are conducting a major drug operation. But this is your health, people.