#1 DoubleRMom

DoubleRMom

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • why_joining:
    CYMBALTA hatred

Posted 24 January 2011 - 12:00 PM

2 weeks ago I stopped taking Cymbalta. I was on 60mg for 5 years then went to 30mg for 8 weeks, then stopped completely. I have been researching this to death, trying to drill down my experience and get through it as best I can. Let me just say that I am not a doctor, psychologist, or have any training in the medical field whatsoever and my experiences, opinions and methods are my own.

When I went to 30mg, I had a low-grade, dull headache every single day when I woke up in the morning, which I easily remedied by taking 2 Motrin. The only other symptoms I had were what everyone describes as brain zaps. I thought, "this is easy." I could not have been more mistaken. 2 weeks ago, I stopped taking it altogether and as a result I hope I can help someone with my experience and suggestions for a better recovery, for lack of a better term.

When you stop, please do yourself a favor and stop taking it on a Thursday night if you take your pill at night time, or stop taking it on Friday morning if you take it in the morning. I would suggest stopping on an extended or holiday weekend, or if you can use a few vacation/personal days, tack them onto a weekend. You and yours will thank you and you will have a much easier time in the beginning.