Photo

Wow, so many things wrong with this picture!!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kderubeis

kderubeis

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 02 July 2008 - 03:16 PM

I too have been suffering the withdrawal symptoms that are commonly listed, and am angered by more than just the drug. I have been going over and over this mess of a system we have going on here. I am extremely disappointed in my personal medical care. I am a Licensed Vocational Nurse, and in school we were told that nursing is largely dependent on common sense plus the education we received. Relying on someone else's common sense is obviously a scary thought to most of us. But if you think about it, that is pretty much how the world rotates. Everyday we rely on someone's common sense about the job they do. I don't like confrontation and am generally an agreeable patient with my doctors. Of course the Cymbalta withdrawals have given me a new found courage to speak my mind. If you know what I mean. I am practicing great restraint under the ever changing moods and irritability I am suffering. But I plan to write a "mission" statement to the psychiatric field and take it as far as it can go! First of all, psychiatric care guidelines need to be changed. There is no "real" management of patients. Management should not end when you walk out the door and begin with the next visit. Yes, we are free to call the doctor and report side effects or problems, but if we are truly depressed and unmotivated, not to mention frustrated, we may not pick up the phone right away or at all. Doctors should be following up with us!! I also would like to know why no one ever takes vital signs, such as blood pressure, temperature, pulse, etc. when you go to a psychiatric visit? Meds that alter these signs that should be immediately reevaluated. But how would they know unless it is being done? Also some blood work should be done as a baseline and routinely reevaluated. This information is even stated on s