• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 sardonic_math

sardonic_math

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 July 2008 - 05:02 PM

Sorry if this is redundant. I can barely think or type right now, so also forgive any incomprehensibility.

I've been on cymbalta for about a year. started at 30, jacked up to 60, doc tried to jack me up again to 90, but by that point I was feeling suspicious of the drug, so i just kept taking 60. Gained about 25 lbs, heaviest i've been since 95. just broke up with a great girl and feel nothing about it. Conflicted, because I believe the cymbalta (or the talk therapy, or both) genuinely helped for a while, but is now hurting me. I am a career artist and professor, and despite an intense schedule of upcoming shows, I can't get myself to work--an entirely new problem. can't get myself to do anything actually. and one i haven't read form others yet, which is that I have a really hard time getting myself to lay down to go to sleep? i pull all nighters several times a week, for no reason. i'll just go ride my bike all night, or walk around, or look at the computer, even when i have somewhere to be in the morning.

i could go on and on. the main problem is, I've asked my doctor to take me off the drug, and she says she thinks it's not a good idea. I told her about my general lethargy and apathy, and she told me I was blaming my problems on the drug. at this point, i've forgotten to take it for a few days (as i have a habit of doing), and am already deep in withdrawal: total nausea, brain zaps, back pain, general physical discomfort, extreme dizziness. I think i'm going cold turkey. I don't want to see that doc anymore, and all i have are 60's. i'm already in it, i'm going for it. any advice, any help greatly appreciated.

#2 schmb01

schmb01

Worker Bee

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts

Posted 13 July 2008 - 05:19 PM