• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 salvadora

salvadora

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 04:35 AM

Hello, a newbie here. I am on my fourth day of cold bird off Cymbalta. I know it's not the way to go; I know tapering would be preferable. In any case, I'm just going to list what I go through here. A lot of people, it seems, have really horrorshow times getting off this drug, and I don't know if I'm going to be one of them. Hopefully what I describe will help me and someone else.

Some background: I've been on Cymbalta for 20 months for major depression and anxiety. About a year on 30, and the last period on 60 mg.
Before taking the drug, I had terrible times sleeping and was experiencing rushing thoughts, and the idea of suicide would pop up in my head frequently - not in any kind of ideation way, but the concept would just bubble in and out, sometimes several times a day, which was a bit worrying and certainly annoying. I found Cymbalta cleared my head, as though the storm in my frontal lobe had disappated. I didn't have any really notable side effects when starting, apart from some nights with difficulty sleeping due to a kind of manic feeling. It did not help my sleeping, nor my depression really. I have not been able to give two sh*ts about anything for a couple of years now, and it affects my working life as well as personal life. I've also had the wonderful weight gain many people discuss. On the whole, my side effects have been very minimal, but the part where I don't care about anything in the world is so awful, I feel like I'd trade it for all kinds of other symptoms. And I'd love to just be able to sleep like a healthy person - it's either 12 hours or 2 with me.