• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 nickel1113

nickel1113

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 08:42 PM

I have been on 120 mg of cymbalta per day for a few years. I am a student and work part time. Because of this I have....or I should say....I had an insurance plan that I can no longer pay for which equals no prescription coverge, which means stopping cymbalta cold turkey. I had no idea that detoxing off this was going to feel like this. I decided today that I needed some kind of support for this or else I am not sure how I am going to manage to get through this on my own. This is actually a scary process for me. My brain is zapping and I actually feel like my brain is floating in a pool of water. I am scared so I thought I would reach out. I can't screw up my schooling. I worked to hard to be where I am and so I am really trying to keep it together. But I don't exactly feel like I am doing that great of a job. It SUCKS! It hurts! It is soo uncomfortable! I can't sleep, and when I do I am up every two hours drenched wet. Diarrhea, nauseated,crying, forgetfulness, anxiety, spaciness, grinding my teeth, shaky.....the list really does go on. I am looking for suggestions, resources, whatever. Anything to get through this even a little easier would be appreciated.

#2 Lundeliz

Lundeliz

Great Friend

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • LocationTexas
  • why_joining:
    I c/t'd from 60mg in 2009. Went back on and started tapering. Spent the next 4 years trying to get off. It was very difficult. Finally stopped at 17 beads on Dec.4, 2013.

Posted 09 September 2012 - 09:46 PM

Nickel, it's a horrible position to be in. If going back on a dose of Cymbalta and slowly tapering

off is not an option, then consider going on a low dose of an SSRI such as prozac ($4 prescription at WalMart) ,

then after stabilizing, tapering off that. It's not a guarantee, but often it will at least minimize the symptoms.