• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 talee1960

talee1960

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:12 PM

For a long time I've wanted to get off Cymbalta (was originally prescribed by my well-meaning-now-retired GP for my perimenopausal ugliness).  He'd said I wouldn't have to be on it long, just get me through this stage in my hormone house party.  I am seeing a therapist which I consider a huge treat to myself, and she's highly qualified. She mentioned some weeks back that she doesn't think I need to be on the Cymbalta - I agreed.

At the doctor this past Monday and he stepped me down from 60mg to 30mg.  Today is day 3 of half dose and OMG.  What is with my CRYING?  I'm a critically busy litigation paralegal - I know what I'm doing and have been one of the best in my field for quite some time!  I'm also pretty fun - or maybe I WAS pretty fun.  The bottom line is, starting yesterday, I can't stop crying.  If someone in the office comes in to see me - I cry.  I had a meeting with the managing partner yesterday (a very sweet guy) and......I cried.  I'm sitting in my office with the door closed now....crying.  I feel completely stupid and guilty and like I should just walk out and not return.  I bit off the receptionist's head this morning just because she's a ditz, but she didn't deserve it.  I'm utterly horrified at the overnight Jekyll-Hyde change in me.  Holy cow......

I've read on these forums this morning and now I'm scared.  I cannot imagine getting worse instead of better once completely done with Cymbalta.  I cannot imagine crying harder, hating people more, being angry all of a sudden, not being able to string two thoughts together or focus on anything.  I work - it's what keeps my family fed and keeps me happy - I LOVE MY JOB!