5 replies to this topic

#1 albergo11

albergo11

Advanced Member

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 25 November 2013 - 04:13 PM

Hello, I have been withdrawing from cymbalta for just under 6 months now, following usage for a 5 month period of at the highest dose, 30 mg of cymbalta.  I tapered down from 30-10 mg, at 5mg increments over a 1.5 month period, and then stopped at 10mg.  Within the first week, I experienced extreme dizzyness, memory problems, extremely blurry vision, and a huge number of floaters in my eyes, in addition to depersonalization, and derealization which persisted for approximately 3 months, until I started taking 10-20mg of prozac.   During the prozac period, I felt slightly better, the dizzyness and headaches went away, which allowed me to work again, but prozac also gave me its own side effects.  I stopped prozac at 4 months post-cymbalta, and have been no medication since that time (aside from 10mg of adderall every morning, a shitty habit that I'm slowly tapering from simultaneously).

It's been just under 6 months for me, and I'm not feeling 100% normal, but the vast majority of my symptoms have disappeared.  My personality is still off (emotions return, but they are not normal yet), and I have a difficult time thinking creatively, which is really unfortunate, because creativity was my "way to escape" and I dearly miss this ability.  I do NOT miss the headaches associated with reading/writing, and I am so damn grateful those terrible things finally went away (approximately 4.5-5 months post-cymbalta).