42 replies to this topic

#1 CSC

CSC

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:42 AM

Hi everybody.

I'm new here. I've been on Cymgen (Cymbalta) for almost Three years. Sad to say that it feels like it mostly ruined that part of life. I was a student at that time, taking it without realizing the impact it had on my life. I wasn't well informed on this drug, so I didn't take it everyday, unaware of the withdrawal symptoms. I would use alcohol, after all I was a student and never realized that the Cymbalta was the reason for all my acting outs. My Doctor never mentioned that it could be dangerous using alcohol with this drug. I blacked out and behaved very strange, doing things that I would NEVER do before I was taking this drug. My behavior did not only put my life at risk, but also the life's of others.  I didn't give it much thought, and just laughed it of as a typical drunk student. I came to a point where I realized that this was getting out of hand. So, I researched this Drug and was shocked when I realized what I was taking might be the reason for all this. I am now in the process of quitting Cymbalta. I stopped cold turkey after taking 30mg for 2 months after 60mg for almost 3 years. It is the worst time I have ever experienced. The withdrawal are awful. I feel sick to my stomach, hots, colds, liver pain ect. But the worst is a extreme feeling of guilt. I am reliving all the bad experiences and can't understand how I could have been that person. Feels like I'm looking at somebody else's life. Having very bad nightmares. Feels like I have been put in somebody else's body for that time period. Can somebody please tell me this will pass?  Will this feeling of guilt,worthlessness and nightmares go away so I can live my life like normal again before I started taking this drug?

Thank you all very much.

#2 FiveNotions

FiveNotions

God-like

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,686 posts
  • LocationUS, East Coast
  • why_joining: