• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 oncetwice2

oncetwice2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 January 2015 - 03:07 PM

I'm 28 y/o female, and I was on it only a few months, 2, maybe 3 tops. I started with 20 or 30mg and went to 60 after a month or so. My GP gave this to me to try to treat depression and "an added benefit" treat chronic back pain (which I see a pain management Dr for and get oxy for). I've been taking the generic, duloxwhateevr. 

I didn't notice any change in my depression or my pain and I was having very vivid and upsetting nightmares and was yelling in my sleep, which I have never done before. Me and my dad decided that the cymbalta is the cause and that I should stop taking it.

I read all the warnings about withdrawal, but I've had doctors and websites tell me how hard it is to stop taking or skip other things, like oxy, cigs, other anti-depressants, and I have never experienced any withdrawal for anything so I just pooh-pooh'd it and decided to stop cold turkey.

I stopped taking it the 1st of the year, 2015. The first day was fine but ever since the second day i have overwhelming dizziness and excessive exhaustion. I'm also very hungry and after eating I get so tired that I need to sleep. Last thursday was a really bad day emotionally and I wound up having a screaming crying fit like I havent had in years. I wanted to kill myself to make the unhappiness stop.

I'm avoiding going to my GP because she will probably just tell me to start taking it again and taper off and I don't want to be back to zero and have wasted 19 days of dizziness. That and the fact that I have a really hard time leaving the house, emotionally.