10 replies to this topic

#1 ESRoar

ESRoar

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 May 2020 - 02:32 PM

Hi All,

I wanted to get some advice on my Cymbalta tapering.  I have been tapering off of 90mg since July 2018 by bead counting.  I'm currently on 43mg.  I originally started tapering at a rate of 5% dose drop every 2 weeks.  I haven't been able to handle that high of a drop in a long time.  I had nausea, a jittery feeling, anxiety, headaches, brain fog and was crying non-stop.  I kept reducing my % drop to see if I could better handle it.  Lately I have been dropping by 1.5%.  This still gives me withdrawal, but I'm not crying all day after a drop.  By keeping with this schedule, I will be cymbalta-free in April of 2026.  :( :( :(  I was wondering if anyone has any advice or strategies on this method of tapering?  Is there a better way?  

I saw a psychiatrist who was very understanding about how hard it is to come off of cymbalta.  He recommended adding zoloft to help me taper.  I wasn't too keen on adding another drug because I'm breastfeeding my daughter, so I declined the prescription.

Thank you.

#2 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,875 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 13 May 2020 - 04:03 PM

Normally people don't have much problem until they drop below 30 mg so it is easy to see you are one of the lucky sensitive ones lol. I know that there have been some members that have had to drop a bead or 2  (+/-0.5%) a month.  Have you looked through our ebook. There are a lot of tips in there from members on what to do and not to do and includes a lot of info on supplements as well. There are a list of things in there that can make the symptoms worse as well (caffeine, salt, sugar, etc). You might give it a look.

#3 invalidusername

invalidusername

Site Partners

• Site Supporter
  • 4,802 posts
  • LocationKent, UK

Posted 13 May 2020 - 05:25 PM