#1 Gran23

Gran23

Advanced Member

• Site Supporter
  • 43 posts
  • why_joining:
    Want off Cymbalta for good

Posted 28 May 2014 - 08:24 AM

Thankful to find this site!  I've been withdrawing since 05/12/2014 when I told my doctor I was ready to come off the med.  Little did I know it was going to be so difficult.  The first few days I had a severe headache, nausea, shakiness, irritability and heart palpitations.  I've not had the brain zaps mentioned by most of the people posting on here.  After 2 weeks I still have occasional headaches and shakiness, but my biggest  lingering problem is the heart palpitations.  I don't know if this is something I need to have check by my PD or will it eventually go away?  Has anyone else had this problem?

Never in a million years would I have thought it would be so hard to get off of Cymbalta.  The day I went to the doctor I was told I didn't have to stop taking it if I didn't want, that it was a safe medication that I could take the est of my life if I wanted.  I'm not having nearly a much problem coming off as some but still has been hard.  I have now decided to wean myself off of all medications and only take supplements that are safe  and non-toxic.  Thanks to everyone on this site.  It has been a great help

#2 fishinghat

fishinghat

Site Partners

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,895 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 28 May 2014 - 08:45 AM

Welcome to the site GM23.  Unluckily heartpounding can come with the cymbalta withdrawal but given that a number of serious conditions can also cause heart palpitations I would be amiss if I didn't tell you to have it checked out. This will help alleviate some of your worries about your heart as well.

I am glad you are starting to do better. Keep us posted and don't hesitate to come here if you need help, need to vent or just need a pep talk. We are here.

#3 Gran23

Gran23

Advanced Member

• Site Supporter
  • 43 posts