2761 replies to this topic

#1 Axlejames

Axlejames

God-like

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,290 posts

Posted 18 October 2018 - 07:22 PM

I was on celexa for 8 years 2 months ago my dr took me off this abruptly and started throwing other meds at me enter cymbalta I've been on cymbalta 30 mg for the last month and recently I went up to 60mg for the last 4 days did not like how that made me feel so I only took 30 today and I feel like I have the flu I want to eventually come off all of these meds I'm a combat vet and I needed them 8 years ago when i first got back but they are ruining my life can anyone help me I have only been on 30mg for a short time and even this small bit of withdrawl sucks so I need to get off these soon I believe

#2 invalidusername

invalidusername

Site Admin

• Site Supporter
  • 6,217 posts
  • LocationKent, UK

Posted 18 October 2018 - 08:59 PM

Hi Axlejames and welcome!

Firstly - coming off any anti-depressant abruptly is not the way to go. Despite guidelines to the health service that patients can do a "straight-swap". Most of the time there will be consequences. They fear serotonin syndrome, so the easiest way is to stop one, start another. Although you are on another AD, you can quite easily be suffering withdrawal from the celexa. After 8 years, it will take a while to get out of your system - remember also that you have switched SSRI to SNRI. 

Secondly, you will need to give a dose change at least 2 weeks before writing it off, and the drug as a whole, 3 months to gauge its effectiveness for you - unless it is making you feel too bad, in which case, you will need to think about coming off. How quickly that is depends on the severity of the effects.